The Roots Get Over

How I Got Over

A few weeks back, The Roots’ reconstructed version of the Monsters of Folk track “Dear God” was released online. Along with a partial tracklist, all from their upcoming 11th studio album “How I Got Over”.  Although only Jim James’ vocals are present throughout “Dear God 2.0”, Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis, and M. Ward all lent a hand in the making of. In the video directed by Jason Goldwatch, Lead MC Black Thought plays a cabdriver who experiences a multitude of societal woes from the driver’s seat of his cab. Monsters of Folk and My Morning Jacket singer Jim James (or ugh, Yim Yames) visits as a slumbersome passenger. It’s a funereal yet exquisitely shot affair.

According to ?uestlove’s website OkayPlayer, opening track on “How I Got Over” is “A Peace Of Light” that features Amber Coffman, Angel Deradoorian and Haley Dekle of The Dirty Projectors. You can hear 1:30 clips of every track off “How I Got Over” now on their MySpace. Including their sample of “The Book of Right-On” by Joanna Newson, on the song “Right On,” of course. The LP in available everywhere mañana.

Download The Roots “Dear God 2.0 (Feat. Monsters of Folk)”


Preview Male Bonding’s newest LP “Nothing Hurts”

Dalton’s very own Minutemen-alikes, Male Bonding, have put together a snarling debut LP, “Nothing Hurts” out on May 11th on SubPop. Do like I’m going to do and preview the full-length album for free here and if you want to keep “Nothing Hurts” for yourself forever, pre-order here.  The same shit as always below.

Download Male Bonding “Years Not Long”